in June 1997 to discuss the activities of the proposed central disaster reduction system. Once again, key personnel from the disaster reduction bureaus of 23 countries attended the meeting, whose overall goal was to promote cooperation in disaster reduction efforts through actions. A proposal was made at the meeting to establish an office in Japan to serve as the secretariat for the proposed system.

(6) Establishment of the ADRC

With momentum gathering from this series of meetings, the Japanese government discussed the organization, budget, and other aspects of the proposed office with the other countries involved. With the cooperation of Hyogo Prefecture, the Asian Disaster Reduction Center was officially established in Kobe on 30 July 1998.

2-2. Composition

The Asian Disaster Reduction Center (ADRC) was established in Kobe, Hyogo prefecture, in 1998, with mission to enhance disaster resilience of the member countries, to build safe communities, and to create a society where sustainable development is possible. ADRC works to build disaster resilient communities and to establish networks among countries through many programs including personnel exchanges in this field.

The Center addresses this issue from a global perspective in cooperation with a variety of UN agencies and international organizations/initiatives, such as the United Nations Secretariat for International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UNISDR), the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UNOCHA), the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UNESCAP).

At the outset, ADRC was comprised of 22 member countries, four advisor countries, and an observer organization. Armenia joined later, in August 2000, followed by the Kyrgyz Republic in July 2002, Pakistan in July 2005, and Yemen and Bhutan in December 2007, Azerbaijan in 2009, Maldives in 2010, and the Republic of Iran in 2012 bringing the number of member countries to 30. In March 2004, the US joined as the fifth advisor country to ADRC.

30 Member Countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Kyrgyz, Lao PDR, Malaysia Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines,

Russian Federation, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam, Yemen **5 Advisor Countries:** Australia, France, New Zealand, Switzerland, United States of America **Observer:** Asian Disaster Preparedness Center (ADPC)